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
top of page
Branding - Tic Tac Com

BRANDING

But what is it, the
“branding” exactly?

The concept of branding has been around since 350 BC. The term comes from the word Brandr which means "to burn" in Old Norse. By the 16th century, the word was already widely used by farmers who branded their cows with a hot iron. Simple and easily identifiable, these membership symbols are very reminiscent of our modern logos.

But nowadays, branding is much more than just a logo, or even a visual identity. What is called "branding" refers to the emotion that a particular company will arouse in consumers. In the age of the Internet, "branding" has now become the essential weapon to stand out from competitors.

The best example of all time is surely the "Apple" brand. “People talk about technology, but Apple was really a marketing company,” former Apple CEO John Sculley said in 1997. Above all, Steve Jobs understood that the success of a good marketing strategy depended on its consistency and simplicity.

The art of storytelling will allow you to establish an emotional connection with your customers. Innovative campaigns and strategic product placement with celebrities, for example, have allowed Apple to enter people's imaginations and ultimately make them dream.

Once the values and mission have been defined, the logo will define your visual identity. The choice of name, letters, typeface, symbols will become the first visual reference with the outside world and will make you recognizable among others, but it is your marketing strategy that will raise enthusiasm for your business.

In short, branding serves to:

  1. Differentiate yourself from the competition in a world where the abundance of choice can stun the consumer.

  2. Bring value to your products and services when it comes time to make a service offer. As a selling point, the price is no longer enough: consumers also buy the brand, its values, its quality.

  3. Create and solidify ties with customers: talk about yourself, tell your story, generate a feeling of identification, allowing you to connect emotionally with customers.

  4. Ensuring a standard that will be homogeneous and coherent makes it possible to support and structure an evolving brand.

bottom of page

BRANDING

Mais c’est quoi, le « branding », au juste ?

Le concept de branding existe depuis l’an 350 av. J.-C. Le terme provient du mot Brandr qui signifie « brûler » en vieux norrois. Au 16e siècle, le mot était déjà largement utilisé par les fermiers qui marquaient leurs vaches au fer chaud. Simples et facilement identifiables, ces symboles d’appartenance rappellent tout à fait nos logos modernes.

Mais, de nos jours, le branding correspond à bien plus qu’un simple logo, ou même à une identité visuelle. Ce qu’on appelle "branding" fait référence à l’émotion que telle ou telle entreprise va susciter chez les consommateurs. À l’heure de l’internet, le "branding" est aujourd’hui devenu l’arme essentielle pour se démarquer de ses concurrents.

Le meilleur exemple de tout les temps est sûrement la marque "Apple". « Les gens parlent de technologie, mais Apple était en réalité une entreprise de marketing », expliquait en 1997 l’ancien CEO d’Apple, John Sculley. Par-dessus tout, Steve Jobs avait compris que le succès d’une bonne stratégie de marketing tenait à sa cohérence et à sa simplicité.

L’art du récit vous permettra d’établir un lien affectif avec vos clients. Les campagnes novatrices et le placement stratégique de produits auprès des célébrités, par exemple, ont permis à Apple de prendre place dans l’imaginaire des gens et, au bout du compte, de les faire rêver.

Une fois les valeurs et mission définies, le logo définira votre identité visuelle. Le choix du nom, des lettres, de la typo, des symboles deviendra la première référence visuelle avec le monde extérieur et vous rendra reconnaissable parmi d’autres, mais c’est votre stratégie marketing qui soulèvera l’engouement pour votre entreprise.

En bref, le branding sert à:

  1. Vous distinguer de la concurrence dans un monde où l’abondance de choix peut étourdir le consommateur.

  2. Apporter de la valeur à vos produits et services lorsque vient le temps de faire une offre de service. Comme argument de vente, le prix ne suffit plus: les consommateurs achètent également la marque, ses valeurs, sa qualité.

  3. Créer et solidifier les liens avec les clients: faire parler de soi, raconter son histoire, générer un sentiment d’identification permet de se connecter émotivement avec la clientèle.

  4. Assurer un standard qui sera homogène et cohérent permet de soutenir et de structurer une marque qui évolue.